The War Within /Plotting and Planning

I am a war gone silent, a sleeper cell in the making,

I am a General gone rogue, seeking glory for the taking.

Battle tested long from rested – I make plans for victory here,

Scarred and barred from all the things that would have given me fear.

I am a soldier on the front lines, fighting my way to freedom,

I am a fight gone south, just thinking about what we’ve done.

Gold medals line my chest as I ponder on the past,

Mounting doubts and insecurities as I wonder how long

peace will last.

No rest for the wicked because we own the night

No vest for our targets, we’ve got them in our sights.

All stand to salute all the work we’ve done – but the in-fighting

and opposition on our side makes me wonder…

If we really won.

~~~~~~~

I’ve been having more fun than I’m allowed to have lately. We like to keep the enjoyment at levels of Very Little – Non-existent …But I like breaking rules. It is day 5 of Nanowrimo and I have a taste for blood. In my story. Not like…me actually going out to ….no. Never. The sight of it …doesn’t make me faint …obviously but ..it’s unsettling.

Anyway let’s move on from that awkwardness…shall we?

Well…linger if you want but it’s just gonna get weirder, I guarantee it.

Five days in and there are some characters itching to get pinched…or off’d. I got a real world question for my real world problem in my fictional setting.

Why is it so hard for people ..anywhere in the world…to mind their own business? Like what makes a person think that everyone needs to be the same or like them? Why can’t there be differences, like the kind that stares you in the face?

You see me? I look different, talk different, act different and think different…and that bothers some. In my fictional setting – the small town folks are put off and afraid of the new people that show up. Because they embody the definition of different and change. So a few of them don’t like it and want to put an end to them – but not without a reason…there’s always a reason.

But it just made me wonder – you know art imitates life often in some of the stories I write and this one didn’t just hit home, it pulled a chair up in the living room and put its feet up on the coffee table in muddy boots.

So I wonder about stuff like that.

I think, if there were a little more love in the world (period), we’d see what we love about others in ourselves and vice versa, rather than hating in others what we see in ourselves. I get that it’s hard for some people. Upbringing may have been that way, life circumstances and situations might be to blame, or environments ….I get it. But, after a certain amount of time and by time I mean age…you think for yourself. You learn things living out in the world. You see all the people and interact with them. You talk to them and get to know how they think and feel. You see them in their environments and watch how they too interact with others.

You form ideas based on your own experiences with the people around you. It is not fair to charge an entire group of people based on your experiences with one. But it seems that the characters in my story are doing exactly that. So I’m digging deep to not only make it a cautionary tale but an entertaining one as well.

Sometimes ..rarely….it helps if I have a title in mind to work around and while I have a title for the first Novella I don’t really have one for the second one that ties into the other. Not sure what to call it. I keep thinking The Way Home sounds nice but don’t know if it really gives much of a clue to the story or the plot of the thing. So I’m a little stuck with that one.

Last night, because the words wouldn’t come while I was typing, I had to switch to writing them out by hand and listening to some music which helped tremendously. I was able to get about four pages of writing done, which equaled up to a little over a thousand words. But it was so much easier writing it out by hand than it was typing last night for some reason.

Speaking of typing…My Grammarly services have decided to roll out emojis at the Grammarly Tone Detector for when you type online and this sucker has been on Disapproval the entire time πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

It’s making this face 😣 I think it’s kinda funny. Either Grammarly is judging the hell out of my writing or It’s reading into the tone of my words which I think that’s what it is supposed to be doing.

Who knows…this app is a trip.

Anyhoo…that has been my night and day. I’m just about ready to sit and start working on my Nano-project. I have to make a quick errand run and then I can get back home and do the thing.

I hope you guys are doing well today. Writers good luck with your current and future projects. Artists, it’s just your imagination but use it anyway! Lol, musicians, we’re ready to hear that new hit you’ve been slaving over and dancers…let us see what you got!

Have a good evening! Oh…and…

Be good, Humans! ❀

lips

update: forgot to hit ‘Publish’ an hour ago… **sigh

Published by Tyronica Smith

I am an author. I write fiction, non-fiction, poetry, short stories, and novels. Writing has been my release, my passion, and my medicine. I look forward to sharing the things I create with you.

Leave a comment