Luck of the Draw / Quick Update

On the battlefield with my soldiers, today might be our last,

the skies are gloomy and grey, the heavens are overcast,

sunny days a distant memory of our victorious past.

Today we’ll not use force, but our mind’s might,

in this we war, in this we ready for the fight,

who knows what may become of us this night.

Moves made after another and the game never ends,

just one more to capture and to my will he’ll have to bend,

losses are never as they seem, but your own territory you must defend.

Dealt a crushing blow, my queen stolen away,

in this vile and crucial game that we all must play,

smoke rises and fires burn this very day.

Trumpets of the court sound and we’re the last on the board,

royalty face to face, hits and strikes tallied and scored,

our best given but none the victor – a draw, our reward.

We will meet again!

~~~~~~~~

^^^ me being all dramatic about the draw I got in chess.

It’s been a weird few days. Time is flying by and I can’t account for any of it. I really can’t.  *shrugs shoulders* I don’t know. I hate to think that I’m walking through my life with my eyes closed but that’s what it feels like. I just need things to calm down.

We’re prepping for the time when the world opens back up, right? But not enough people are getting vaccinated and many are skipping the the second dose. Remember when there wasn’t enough vaccine for everyone, well now things are kinda reversed. There’s more than enough and no bodies to take them. People have their reasons, I guess. I just don’t want to be one to get Covid again. Once was enough for me.

I hope people will reconsider. I would love for us all to be on the same page so that we can get back to the business of living. Covid has definitely rained on many a parade including one very big one that a city near me has every spring. Valley of the Flowers, in Florissant. and Ferguson’s 4th of July parades. Maybe next year they’ll happen. I miss seeing the muscle cars in the parade… I always look forward to seeing the vintage Camaros. I want one so bad Lol. Where would I even go if I had one??? smh lol

In other news, I had a meeting of the minds concerning the red lady ( the novel) with another creative person and I think, I may have put him off of writing for a while. Lol Completely unintentional. He told me that he was kicking off writing a novel as well and we discussed some of what that entails.  We had a socially distanced meeting at my house and discussed it’s progress and the things that I am getting stuck or hung up on. So I showed him my notes (4 giant notebooks) and the book itself all nice printed out (2 massive binders full).  The look on his face was priceless. You know the saying “coulda bought me for a nickel” yeah… he was floored because he didn’t know I was working on something so big.  Anyway, during this meeting, I determined a schedule and a workplan. Because I keep falling into a rut and getting frustrated with myself – taking on smaller chunks of the thing seems to be the best course. But you know what they say about making plans… “when man makes plans God laughs. (Make promises and the devils listens) <– added that because it always seems that we fall short of our promises from time to time, like someone is disrupting our intentions…. cause you know… intentions pave the road to hell or so they say.

so yeah… me and plans and promises… we’ll see what happens and how it goes.

Now for the bigger issues like appropriate beginnings and needing to add chapters in between to break up the larger ones… that’s gonna take some doing. I have some idea how to proceed, which only happened because I had it printed out but inserting those things is gonna be the problem…

Which is why I need the makers of Microsoft Word to make the insertion of pages easier than it is. I need it dummified and made simplistic so that I don’t destroy a whole document and the computer it’s on trying to do these things.  Help me!! Save my sanity! lol

That’s all I got. To give myself a break I began crocheting a blanket for couch cruising.  OR to have since the air conditioning has been on lately.  I’m trying to end it the way I began it but that’s making it so much bigger than I planned. I bought this yarn called Cakes (Caron & Yarnspirations). I’ve gone through about 7 of the 8 I bought, (they actually look like little cakes). Then I guess I’ll be done. I’ll post pics of the finished project when I’m done. It’s quite colorful and seems not to jive in the middle of the thing but it works for me and I like it.

Sooo…. off I go to make dinner. I wish I knew how to make Paella. That’s one of the dishes I am gonna teach myself to make soon. I need that in my life.

I hope everyone is having a great day and evening.

B e g o o d h u m a n s! ❤

cropped-bloggish-logo-2.png

Published by Tyronica Smith

I am an author. I write fiction, non-fiction, poetry, short stories, and novels. Writing has been my release, my passion, and my medicine. I look forward to sharing the things I create with you.

Leave a comment