Misfit (Day 18)

misfit
Image: dreamstime.com

YOU were the piece to my puzzle that wouldn’t fit. But somehow, some way you worked your way into it. Now the other pieces – my family, my job, my friends, and my home – have shifted, now I’m left all alone. What I gave up to make you a part of my life. I gave you love, devotion and commitment, though I wasn’t a perfect wife. I gave you what mattered most when it’s all said and done – but you went and made sure that she would be your only one.

You said, “She gets me and understands my mind – guards my piece and gives me her time.”

And I didn’t?

I made sure your meals were prepared and that you had my ear and when that wasn’t enough – I gave you my blood, my dear. I gave and gave and you shoved it all away…then left me cold – when I wanted you to stay. Gave me hope where there was none to be had, convinced me that I was the faulty one in the relationship, I was bad….when all I wanted was my family but you just couldn’t keep it together, so you took it from me.

Now the tables have turned…you speak of sweet things but I have learned. To hear the lies in your voice when you speak. Actions speak louder than words and your motions teach. We’ve been apart so long that I’ve learned to live without you. I’ve mended this broken heart and sheltered it too. Gave it nutrition when it was starved for love, gave it all that it needed when push came to shove – I was the healer to our brokenness and grief, you took my heart and ran away like a thief…but I have been restored ten times more than I lost. Now you see the pain, now you see the cost.

This door doesn’t revolve or swing both ways…and my life is a lot sunnier these days. So take your ill sharpened love and mosey on along, it’s like the woman said – you were just another sad love song. Regrets built on top of regret and a pile of issues to show. You are a mess and a wreck and your skin begins to grow – a little bit thinner but can you weather this storm? My skies have grown clearer, while yours show harm.

It’s best you deal with that before it eats you alive and spits you out in pieces. But wouldn’t that be more of the same for you, since you can no longer release this? A word of advice from my lips to your ear – when the storm comes, stand strong and train your ear to hear… the warning sounds of inclement weather…but try, my dear, not to let it ruffle your feathers. Tuck in and stand with your back to the wind – let it push you into new places where you can start again.

You have to learn to know your strengths and accept your weakness in times like this, or you’ll continue to be the one left out in the cold, just another misfit.

Published by Tyronica Smith

I am an author. I write fiction, non-fiction, poetry, short stories, and novels. Writing has been my release, my passion, and my medicine. I look forward to sharing the things I create with you.

Leave a comment