Coat (Day – 27)

I’d see the sights and feel the warmth of your arms wrapped around me, your woolen insides and leather positively bound me. Your love surrounds me. You give me what I cannot make on my own, in the wintertime when it’s cold and I feel alone, I am wrapped up in your inviting embrace. And you can tell that I’m all yours by the look on my face.

In the middle of my sonnet to you, I feel that warmth grow hotter too. A small sweat forms at my brow and temple, being given warmth is suddenly something not so simple. I feel drained of energy and elation. Could it be this coat’s crazy situation? I try to unzip but find that it is stuck, I pull and pull with no such luck.

I feel as if my skin is melting inside, a cool breeze is what I need to find. Or perhaps to be cut away from the furry confines of this thing, I can hear it in my thoughts, as my death it sings. What is this that threatens my life so? And will it really sing me to my grave below? I want to be free of this sweltering heat. I’ve given too much of myself and now feel beat.

That’s it, I can see my bones as this coat eats away at them one by one. By the time I set myself free of this thing my life will be done. It’s taking my flesh away in its fur, my skin becomes its leather….how on earth did I come to find this piece for inclement weather. It hasn’t stopped eating and soon I’ll be through, it has grown teeth for which to chew…

The last pieces of me up and as it nibbles away – and now someone else will wear this coat with its terrible price to pay.

 

Published by Tyronica Smith

I am an author. I write fiction, non-fiction, poetry, short stories, and novels. Writing has been my release, my passion, and my medicine. I look forward to sharing the things I create with you.

Leave a comment