NaPoWriMo: #9 Hindsight 20/20

I wanted beautiful flowers to have inside…but you gave me large leaves…

I wanted cool water because I was hot… but you gave me a small breeze…

What was I supposed to do with these things,

things I never asked for? It makes me

wonder if you even listen to me at all

and if I should walk out the door.

Was I supposed to be thankful for the way you ignored my requests? I know I wasn’t…Hindsight 20/20…maybe my behavior wasn’t the best…

I thought I should leave someone so careless…Hindsight 20/20…I was the one that was the mess.

…So I did…I left.

I took my exit and walked out into the rain with my large leaves in hand. Not the beautiful flowers I asked for …I lifted them over my head to keep from getting wet from the downpour.

I stood still and felt the breeze,

was surprised at how these things had been delivered to me with so much ease…

as if…

he knew.

I was no longer hot and had been cooled off.

I could no longer feel my skin boiling from anger.

I felt ashamed at the way I’d scoffed.

But was I in danger?

Who talks to God that way? Who gets angry over the things that they can’t have?

Oh…

I suppose that was me and now every angel in heaven was having a laugh…

I guess at my expense but I deserve it…

would angels laugh at silly humans throwing tantrums and having fits?

I learned a very valuable lesson that day…

you may not get what you want,

but you’ll always get what you need

right on time.

And that every little thing is accounted for,

from the wind and rain –

to the flowers of the field,

we’re always on his mind.

Since then I’ve learned to count my blessings

and be at peace with what I have…

some things will happen to teach us lessons

and sometimes we just have to sit back and laugh.

 

 

 

 

 

Published by Tyronica Smith

I am an author. I write fiction, non-fiction, poetry, short stories, and novels. Writing has been my release, my passion, and my medicine. I look forward to sharing the things I create with you.

Leave a comment