Inktober Day 22: Heist

Guess Who

Every night, all over the world I go out in search of my treasure. But I only take the good ones. Only those in pristine condition by my standards, of course, get my attention. Those not given to rot or decay and have been cared for during their time of use, are my favorites. The others I don’t even bother with. I’m very picky and what the children’s storybooks and old wives’ tales passed down to parents to tell their young is all wrong. I do not nor will I ever leave gifts. This isn’t an equal exchange opportunity or deal. They leave it, I take it, and go on about my business.

I’m simultaneous and ever-present with powers of knowing when my treasure is ripe for the taking.

And I’m never caught. Those who say they’ve seen me aren’t being truthful… there is no seeing me and for good reason. I blend in with my surrounding and am as silent as the grave, and even it makes more noise than I do. As for what I do with my treasures is my business. I don’t question you about what you do with the things you steal. It’s not polite.

But if you must know…

Before the time of humans when the world was old and new, hopefully you understand what I’m saying by that… No? The world the firmament, has been around for a very long time – old but life in this world was a new construct… I’ve been around since the beginning and so has he – he is yet Old to me and New to you. I wish not to frighten you but he and I are made the same but his majesty is of higher rank in your terms. We serve him. We bring him what we’ve taken as gifts and just so happens that he desires the things of humans.

He says it’s for his other special projects. I was the first of his special projects and I won’t be the last. We simply do as we’re told and hope he’s satisfied.

My master creates ….listen carefully… dreams. I’ve never had one so I wouldn’t know what they are or even what they’re like. I guess you’d know better than I. But these dreams, they take on a life of their own after they have been set loose on the world.  Most bring good fortune. MOST. But sometimes there are those that simply go awry. You know what they’re called. They were named after the Darkness and her steed. And we’ll leave it at that. On the lighter side, her sister was named by the first light that came in to the world and her everlasting, ever changing thought.

Humans have been given both to fill the spaces of their minds and hearts…but this new thing. Is much darker than Darkness ever will be.

Beings like me gather our treasures and lay them at his feet and I believe he uses or recylces them in some way and that those things are then let loose on you poor defenseless souls. Now I should mention, some of you are well equipped and know exactly how to protect yourselves. While others are given to insomnia and terrors. It saddens my heart to you so. I’m not without compassion, I do find it all rather… well… it’s excessive.

We’re told that humans were given a length of years in which they were to master the life they lead. However they see fit to the best of their abilities. And adversity is what makes you all stronger than having things handed to you. That you must learn to be able to benefit the next world… the one that comes after you leave this one. But some of you haven’t or simply don’t want to learn and I have to say it surprises me who takes the lesson well and who doesn’t.

For example: Those with every resource available to them would rather not take the lessons life is teaching them, but rather walk around in their ignorance infecting others with that same ignorance and expect a different outcome in their dealings with these very same people. Meanwhile, those who have had every bit of luxury and comfort stripped away from them pick up life’s lessons quick, make change and adapt to their situations and even teach others the lessons they’ve learned.

I’ll never understand some of you. Or why you don’t take better care of yourselves and each other.

Anyway… my next stop is almost ready.  From what I see, his parents ill guided attempts at relieving him of his pain and extracting my treasure seem to be sparking anxiety in the young man. May the Ancient One restore him and see him well.

As for you, we’ll meet again for I am a constant at the beginning and the end of your life and I await your treasures eagerly to add to his collection.

You’re dying to know who I am, aren’t you?

Alright but you can’t say I didn’t warn you.

Tooth fairy

Tooth Fairy

Published by Tyronica Smith

I am an author. I write fiction, non-fiction, poetry, short stories, and novels. Writing has been my release, my passion, and my medicine. I look forward to sharing the things I create with you.

One thought on “Inktober Day 22: Heist

Leave a comment