Father’s Day 2024

Happy – drunk chicken making, ugly tie wearing, early mornin fishing, BBQ sandals having, just resting muh eyes looking, lawnmower riding, beer guzzling, honey I’m home saying – Father’s Day!

Read your paper, cut your grass, wash your car, straighten your garage, ‘iron out the kinks’, putcha feet up, Sunday float on a lazy river, tell a dad joke, and feel all this love.

To all the dads doing the damn thing… thank you. To all you who have assumed the position of father …thank you. To all you first time dads… omg, that’s way too much formula and if you keep shaking the baby they’re gonna vomit and ruin your brand new *insert favorite sports team, anime, video game, saying* shirt.

To all those remembering their fathers on this day… my heart goes out to you. To everyone I missed… celebrate in style! Wear all the stuff your kids have given you over the years and take a picture for the memory keeper in your home.

I don’t know where you are in the worldย  but uhhh… the sun has decided it’s tired of our shit (those humans walking the Earth in particular) and has thus handed down its solar wrath.ย 

Yikes!

It feels every bit of that 102f. Even thru the lil wind blowing out there.ย  I step out from time to time to thaw out. My knees are not a fan of the frosty temps indoors.

And someone has commandeered my blanket and refuses to share.

Too close!

I move him back, he scoots up. He waits till I leave the room then moves back.

A game for sure.. I’m tired of playing, lol.

He’s quiet and no longer doing somersaults on my bed. I’ll take it. He is quite the daredevil.

Reminds me of a much younger version of myself. I even broke bones during my time as a daredevil. Like 3 of them. Yeah..

Anyhoo…

Birthday shenanigans have ended and restarted and ended and now I’m not sure what’s happening. My bestie’s birthday was yesterday and he enjoyed himself. And is still enjoying himself.

I on the other hand have been a good girl. ๐Ÿ˜‰ kinda sorta… the authorities were not involved, there may have been mentioned of a saddle, some dancing, and alcohol and group singing.

Also I may or may not have won a nice sum of money on a birthday scratch off. Under $500 but I’ll take it. It was a nice surprise.

Drunk bowling was a bust, we were all too lit to do it and there was work for everyone the next day.ย  Partying over the age of 40 is crazy work. My inner 21 year old was not pleased but my inner Sophia Patrillo thought I did just fine.ย  ๐Ÿ˜‚

The discontent of my spirit is real. My middle aged angst is palpable. And my youth just flashes before eyes that have seen way too much yet…. not enough.

While I type this Kai has decided that we need to wrestle… his favorite game. Pray for my strength and agility. ๐Ÿ˜†

He’s only 3 but he’s a heavy lil dude. He likes when I flip him in the air and body slam him. He does running kicks and round house kicks and I have no idea who he’s been watching or what he’s been watching but yeah. Lol

I fully believe that he thinks he’s a Power Ranger. We have been watching a lot of that stuff lately.ย  We’ve moved on from Transformers to P.R….omg… should I introduce him to Voltron or TMNT??

We have all summer. Gotta make it fun. Orย  I’ll be in some trouble with trying to keep him entertained.

Yall be good humans! โค๏ธ

It’s hot sooooo stay cool! <— very 90s yearbookish saying ๐Ÿ˜†

K…Bye. ๐Ÿ’‹

Published by Tyronica Smith

I am an author. I write fiction, non-fiction, poetry, short stories, and novels. Writing has been my release, my passion, and my medicine. I look forward to sharing the things I create with you.

3 thoughts on “Father’s Day 2024

  1. Aye, the heat is getting ridiculous to say the least. Heat index of 105 coming here starting Tuesday, lasting though Friday. ๐Ÿ™„
    Have a great week, Tyronica! Stay cool! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment