Poem: Divinity (repost)

I quake beneath a sea of blue ink, black satin, and white diamonds. Shaken by its beauty and taken by its vastness, I cannot contain my awe. A revelation besets me…that I, one minuscule particle of life in an ocean of time and space, was cut from the very same fabric as the universe. A celestial being…perfected by creation, given divinity. Set wild and free as March winds, strong and fluid as raging seas. That I am given a name that translates to “daughter of the king” humbles me.

Harnessed of lightning, white flashes fill my eyes, as driven as the wind and rain…the elements are my disguise. Burning bright as the fire that licks your skin…feel the heat glow and dwell within. That is my spirit wanting to break free of its confines…to be set loose on the world. To spread my light to every man and woman, boy and girl.

Give me freedom of the flesh that binds me. Set me loose amongst the stars where only God can find me…That I may lay my head in the Heavens and dangle my feet over clouds while gazing into the Sun. That its glow might light up my eyes and give space for my imagination to run. That I may tiptoe across its surface to feel the warmth beneath my feet. There and only there is where my spirit and soul are destined to meet.

Published by Tyronica Smith

I am an author. I write fiction, non-fiction, poetry, short stories, and novels. Writing has been my release, my passion, and my medicine. I look forward to sharing the things I create with you.

Leave a comment